



The Walters Prize 2018 Information



Founding benefactors and principal donors

ERIKA & ROBIN CONGREVE

DAME JENNY GIBBS

Major donors

DAYLE, LADY MACE
CHRISTOPHER &
CHARLOTTE SWASBROOK

The Walters Prize is New Zealand's most prestigious contemporary art prize and 2018 marks the ninth iteration of the biennial award at Auckland Art

Gallery Toi o Tāmaki. The Walters Prize awards the most outstanding contribution made to contemporary art in New Zealand by an artist in the two-year period preceding the prize.

The artist who produces the winning artwork receives \$50,000, while the remaining three finalists receive \$5,000 as recognition for being shortlisted.

The Walters Prize was initiated to create a greater understanding of contemporary art in New Zealand and to make contemporary art a more widely recognised, debated and prominent feature of the country's cultural life.

History

The Walters Prize was established in 2002 by founding benefactors and principal donors Erika and Robin Congreve and Dame Jenny Gibbs working together with Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki, and from 2004 Dayle, Lady Mace, who provides a finalist award to each nominated artist. In 2016, Chris and Charlotte Swasbrook joined as major donors.

Previous winners

2016: Shannon Te Ao for *Two shoots that stretch far out*, 2013–14 and *Okea ururoatia (never say die)*, 2016.

2014: Luke Willis Thompson for inthisholeonthisislandwhereiam, 2012

2012: Kate Newby for Crawl out your window, 2010

2010: Dan Arps for Explaining Things, 2008

2008: Peter Robinson for Ack, 2006

2006: Francis Upritchard for Doomed, Doomed, All Doomed, 2005

2004: et al. for restricted access, 2003

2002: Yvonne Todd for Asthma & Eczema, 2001





For more information, high-res images and interview requests contact:

Samantha McKegg, Communications Officer, Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki

M +64 21 548 480

E samantha.mckegg@aucklandartgallery.com

W www.aucklandartgallery.com